Breaking & Trending News

Kapseret MP Hon. Oscar Sudi at a past function. Photo Courtesy

Mzalendo Watch: Hon. Sudi has not spoken in Parliament since 2017

A report released by the Mzalendo scorecard has revealed that vocal and firebrand MP Oscar Sudi has not been making any contributions in Parliament since 2017. The Kapseret MP was singledĀ  out among 19 other parliamentarians who did not contribute in the House. The Mzalendo watch raised concerns that the low performance of some members of Parliament was undermining the role of the National Assembly.

”A total of 21 members did not utter a single word during the entire session. Of the 21, 19 were
from the National Assembly with two being from the Senate. In the National Assembly, men
dominated the list with 16 out of the 19 identified as having uttered not a word. They are Abdi
Tepo (Isiolo South), Abdi Shurie (Balambala), Ahmed Gaal (Tarbaj), Johnson Naicca (Mumias
West), Amin Deddy (Laikipia East) Geofrey Kingagi (Mbeere South), James Gakuya (Embakasi
North), George Aladwa (Makadara), John Owino (Awendo), Oscar Sudi (Kapseret), Stanley
Muthama (Lamu West), Gideon Konchella (Kilgoris), Justus Kizito (Shinyalu), Samuel Arama
(Nakuru Town West), Alfred Sambu (Webuye East) and James Mukwe (Kabuchai). Rose Museo
(Makueni), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East) and Amina Gedow (Mandera) were the silent women in
the House”, read a statement by the Mzalendo Watch.

Mzalendo Trust Executive Director, Caroline Gaita explained that the role of an MP encompasses
the three aspects of legislation, oversight and representation, ”While we recognize that the latter
can take place in Committees and Constituencies respectively, it is imperative to note that
legislative development primarily takes place in the House. To completely abdicate this
responsibility is therefore a dishonor to those who elected them and brings disrepute to the
integrity of Parliament as an institution and a violation of Articles 94, 95 and 96 of the
Constitutionā€, she added.

Hon. Sudi is well-known for his hard-line stance in support of DP William Ruto’s presidential bid in 2022.