Breaking & Trending News

Transport CS James Macharia inspecting JKIA in preparation of the resumption of air travel. Photo Courtesy.

China among countries from which passengers into the country shall be allowed.

China is among 11 countries which have made it into the list to be allowed to fly in passengers into the country when air travel resumes on August 1st. The others include South Korea, Japan, Canada, Zimbabwe, Ethiopia, Switzerland, Uganda, Rwanda, Namibia and Morocco.

Speaking to members of the press on Thursday, Transport CS James Macharia indicated that the aforementioned countries had been shortlisted because they either had mild or limited community transmissions, or were experiencing declining incidences of Covid-19.

He however reiterated that the list would be continuously be updated depending on the evolving Covid-19 situation, ”…this is a list which will be reviewed on an ongoing basis…the list shall be reviewed when we do a global mapping on the trend and intensity of the coronavirus”, he said.

Healso indicated that passengers travelling out of the country would be required to abide by the particular travel, health and any other Covid-19 related requirements of the country they were travelling to. He also said that the Government had placed responsibility on the airlines to ensure compliance by the passengers.

Furthermore, passengers arriving in flights after curfew with valid air tickets will be allowed to proceed to their hotels or residences, while the drivers of the said passengers are required to have evidence that they indeed were at the airport to pick up passengers. Passengers departing on flights after curfew and with valid air tickets and boarding passes will also be allowed to proceed to the airports. Air operators have also been directed to provide guidance material to passengers regarding application of the preventive measures on board.